3D, the super-tool – and fun, too

You may have noticed, if indeed you’ve been around at my site and this blog at all, that I render stuff in virtual 3D a lot.

I find this is, well, a great deal of fun to work with, but also a great tool, both in the design process and when it comes to presenting stuff to other people.

For example, I was charged with designing and building a wall of shelves for a private home – now, this is not the kind of project where you’ll normally see a lot of previz going on but I have a fast 3D pipeline, you see.
So in short order I took some measurements off the room and rendered out some proposals, of which this one was chosen:

wall render
notice the clever use of set dressing!

Of course, with my well-done 3D model, it was rather a simple matter of ordering the materials and building the actual wall of shelves in their actual living room – see:

wall IRL
– and notice the even cleverer set dressing now!

The doors, in case you’re wondering, are push-to-open.

Built to last, too – I’m told the children of the house use it as a climbing wall…

Share on Facebook
Tags: , , ,

One Response to “3D, the super-tool – and fun, too”

  1. Jan-Paul Says:

    Hi Jesper,

    This wall of shelves looks really cool! You say you ordered the material and making the cupboard was really easy. Is this something you did yourself or did you get a good carpenter in to do this for your client? Can you give me some pointers for skilled craftsmen with whom I could discuss a project I have in mind?

    Thanks a lot in advance, JP

Leave a Reply

